Driving With A Suspended License Is A Class 1 Misdemeanor
In Virginia, driving on a suspended or revoked license is a Class 1 misdemeanor. It will put six demerit points on your driver’s license and will remain on your driving record for 11 years. If you are convicted of driving on a suspended license (DOSL), you could receive a jail sentence. A third DOSL offense requires a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 days.
At Whitestone Young, PC, we help people in Virginia contest traffic offenses, including driver’s license suspensions. We know the local courts and how traffic cases are handled in each jurisdiction. You can rely on our experience as we work to restore your driving privileges. Please call 703-591-0200 or contact us online for an appointment.
Did You Lose Your Driver’s License?
A driver’s license can be suspended by the court or by the DMV for administrative reasons unrelated to driving behavior. We can represent people charged with license suspension/revocation for any reason, including:
- DUI/DWI conviction
- Breathalyzer test refusal
- Reckless driving conviction
- Driving without a license
- Drug crime conviction
- Failure to pay court costs and fines
- Failure to pay child support
The type of offense that caused the charges will affect the penalties you will face. We can work with the DMV or court to argue for the reinstatement of your license or a hardship license.
If your license was suspended and you were arrested for driving on a suspended license, it is best to first take care of the underlying reason for the suspension. Then we can address the driving while suspended charge. These are serious charges. You need an experienced criminal defense attorney to present your case and negotiate with the prosecution.
Contact Our Fairfax Suspended License Offense Lawyers
To schedule an appointment, please call 703-591-0200. Your consultation is free.