Reckless Driving Is A Misdemeanor In Virginia
Too many people who are pulled over for reckless driving think it is just another traffic infraction. However, it is far from an infraction; it is a Class 1 misdemeanor. If you plead guilty or are convicted of reckless driving, you can face penalties that include a fine of up to $2,500, and/or up to 12 months in jail and the potential loss of your driver’s license. Because it is a misdemeanor, reckless driving will stay on your Virginia driving record for 11 years and the DMV will assess you six demerit points.
A reckless driving conviction can result in a suspended license and may cause your auto insurance rates to rise. With so many consequences, hiring an attorney to represent your best interests in a reckless driving charge is the wisest action to take. At Whitestone Young, PC, we represent adults and juveniles charged with reckless driving and other traffic offenses in Virginia. To schedule an appointment with our Fairfax reckless driving defense attorneys, please call 703-591-0200.
Fighting The Criminal Charge And License Suspension
Some of the most common reasons people are charged with reckless driving include:
- Driving more than 80 miles per hour
- Driving 20 miles per hour or more over the speed limit
- Passing a school bus
Our reckless driving lawyers Fairfax include former prosecutors and a former county police officer. Our criminal defense team knows how Virginia reckless driving cases are prosecuted and where to look for weaknesses.
We will examine all facets of your case to determine the pros and cons of the prosecution’s case, including whether proper procedure was followed and whether your constitutional rights were violated.
Contact Our Northern Virginia Criminal Traffic Offense Attorneys
Please call 703-591-0200 or contact us online for an appointment. Your consultation is free.