skip to Main Content

Reckless Driving Limit Changed in Virginia

Reckless Driving Limit Changed In Virginia

Speeding over 80 miles per hour in Virginia has been Reckless Driving, regardless of the speed limit. So, if you were going 81 MPH in a 70 MPH zone, you could be charged with a Class 1 Misdemeanor, even though you were only going 11 miles per hour over the posted speed limit. However, the General Assembly recently voted to increase the minimum threshold for Reckless to 85 miles per hour, effective July 1, 2020. However, going 20 miles per hour over the posted speed limit remains Reckless Driving. Keep in mind that there are few roads in Fairfax County, Arlington or Alexandria where the speed limit is above 55 mph, and no place where it is 70 mph. If you or a loved one is charged with exceeding the speed limit and gets a Reckless Driving charge, an attorney at Whitestone Young can assist you. (SB 63)

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back To Top